undertaking are vested in a board of directors; its principal officers are the Chairman of the Board and the President, the latter being the Chief Executive Officer.

Canadian Patents and Development Limited (CPDL). This Crown corporation was set up in 1947 under an amendment to the National Research Council Act passed in 1946. The purpose of the company, which is a subsidiary of the National Research Council, is to patent and license new products and processes that come out of NRC research, research of other government departments and agencies, and research of Canadian universities. Proposals for patents are assessed with regard to originality, existence of similar patented products or processes, commercial appeal, humanitarian or scientific value, and cost of developing, promoting and marketing. CPDL initiates and finances the development of many inventions to a stage where it is economically possible for private industry to carry them through to production and sale, thus bridging the gap between research and industry. The company, whose head office is located in Ottawa, reports to Parliament through a designated Minister.

Canadian Penitentiary Service. The penitentiary service operates under the Penitentiary Act (RSC 1970, c.P-6) and is under the jurisdiction of the Solicitor General of Canada. It is responsible for all federal penitentiaries and for the care and training of persons committed to those institutions. The Commissioner of Penitentiaries, under the direction of the Solicitor General, has control and management of the Service and all matters connected therewith.

Canadian Pension Commission. This Commission, established in 1933 by amendments to the Pension Act (RSC 1970, c.P-7), replaced the Board of Pension Commissioners, the first organization created to deal solely with war pensions for service in Canada's Armed Forces. The Commission's main function is the administration of the Pension Act under which it adjudicates on all claims for pensions in respect of disability or death arising out of service in Canada's Armed Forces; and Parts I to X and Part XII of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act, which provide for the payment of pensions in respect of death or disability arising out of civilian service directly related to the prosecution of World War II. It also adjudicates on claims for pension under various other measures, authorizes and pays monetary grants accompanying certain gallantry awards bestowed on members of the Armed Forces and administers various trust funds established by private individuals for the benefit of veterans and their dependents. The Commission consists of eight to 14 commissioners and up to 10 ad hoc commissioners appointed by the Governor in Council. Its chairman has the rank of a Deputy Minister and it reports to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

Canadian Permanent Committee on Geographical Names. This Committee deals with all questions of geographical nomenclature affecting Canada and undertakes research and investigation into the origin and usage of geographical names. Its membership includes representatives of federal mapping agencies and other federal offices concerned with nomenclature and a representative appointed by each province. The Committee is administered by the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources.

Canadian Radio-Television Commission (CRTC). This Commission, established under the provisions of the Broadcasting Act, 1967-68 (RSC 1970, c.B-11), regulates and supervises all aspects of the Canadian broadcasting system. The executive committee, after consultation with the part-time members in attendance at a Commission meeting, may issue broadcasting licences or renewal licences for such terms, not exceeding five years and subject to such conditions related to the circumstances of the licensee, as the executive committee deems appropriate for the implementation of the broadcasting policy enunciated in Section 3 of the Broadcasting Act. Under the same circumstances, the executive committee may, on application by a licensee, amend any conditions of a broadcasting licence already issued. The Commission usually holds public hearings in connection with issuing, suspending, etc., licences.

The CRTC consists of five full-time members and 10 part-time members chosen regionally and appointed by the Governor in Council. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Communications.

Canadian Saltfish Corporation. The Canadian Saltfish Corporation was established under the Saltfish Act (SC 1969-70, c.32) and became operative on May 4, 1970. Its main purpose is to improve the earnings of fishermen and of other primary producers of salt-cured fish, through the production or purchase, processing and marketing of salt cod from participating provinces.

The Corporation, with head office at St. John's, Nfld., consists of a board of directors composed of a chairman, whose office is in Ottawa, a president who is general manager, one director for each participating province and not more than five other directors, all of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council. It is assisted by an advisory committee of 15 members, also appointed by the Governor in Council, at least half of whom are fishermen or representatives of fishermen. The limit of the Corporation's financial obligations is \$10 million and the Corporation is required to operate without grant appropriation from